810 Capstone Drive, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Built in 1829, the Gorgas House was the first structure to be built on the University of Alabama campus and stands as an excellent example of Low Country architecture. The Gorgas House is one of only four buildings on campus to survive the Civil War and the only one designed by renowned architect William Nichols. Originally built as a “hotel” or “steward’s hall.” The house served as a dining hall for the University students until the mid-19th century when it became a faculty residence. The Gorgas family lived there from 1879-1953. The residence is now a house museum with collections of antiques and Gorgas family memorabilia.